Department of Crop Sciences

Faculty

Name/Title Contact Information Areas of Research
Mohammad Babadoost
Professor
babadoos@illinois.edu
(217) 333-1523
Plant Pathology
Plant Protection
Fred Below
Professor
fbelow@illinois.edu
(217) 333-9745
Plant Physiology
General Biology
Soil Fertility
Bioenergy Crops
Grain Crops
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Crop Genetic Improvement
Martin Bohn
Associate Professor
mbohn@illinois.edu
(217) 244-2536
Biotechnology
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Crop Genetic Improvement
Germán Bollero
Department Head
Professor
gbollero@illinois.edu
(217) 333-9480
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Bioinformatics and Statistics
Carl Bradley
Associate Professor
carlbrad@illinois.edu
(217) 244-7415
Plant Pathology
Plant Protection
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Bruce Branham
Professor
bbranham@illinois.edu
(217) 333-7848
Weed Science
Turf
Water Quality
Soil Fertility
Donald Briskin
Coordinator, MS Online Program
Professor
dbriskin@illinois.edu
(217) 244-1115
Plant Physiology
Biochemistry
General Biology
Patrick Brown
Assistant Professor
pjb34@illinois.edu
(217) 333-8182
Genomics
Bioenergy Crops
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Donald Bullock
Professor
dbullock@illinois.edu
(217) 244-8221
Bioinformatics and Statistics
Gustavo Caetano-Anolles
Professor
gca@illinois.edu
(217) 333-8172
Plant Pathology
Plant Protection
Plant Physiology
General Biology
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Crop Genetic Improvement
Bioinformatics and Statistics
Steven Clough
Assistant Professor
sjclough@illinois.edu
Plant Pathology
Plant Protection
Molecular Genetics
General Biology
George Czapar
Associate Professor
gfc@illinois.edu
Adam Davis
Associate Professor
asdavis1@illinois.edu
(217) 333-9654
Weed Science
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Bioinformatics and Statistics
Brian Diers
Associate Head
Professor
bdiers@illinois.edu
(217) 265-4062
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Biotechnology
Crop Genetic Improvement
Leslie Domier
Assistant Professor
ldomier@illinois.edu
(217) 333-0510
Plant Pathology
Molecular Genetics
Darin Eastburn
Associate Professor
eastburn@illinois.edu
(217) 244-9632
Plant Pathology
Plant Protection
Michael Gray
Crop Sciences Extension Coordinator & Assistant Dean for ANR Extension Programs
Professor
megray@illinois.edu
(217) 333-4424
Entomology
Plant Protection
Aaron Hager
Associate Professor
hager@illinois.edu
(217) 333-4424
Weed Science
Plant Protection
Yoshie Hanzawa
Assistant Professor
yhanzawa@illinois.edu
(217) 333-4685
Glen Hartman
Professor
ghartman@illinois.edu
(217) 244-3258
Entomology
Plant Protection
Environmental Biology
General Biology
Grain Crops
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Biotechnology
Crop Genetic Improvement
Matthew Hudson
Associate Professor
mhudson@illinois.edu
(217) 244-8096
Molecular Genetics
Plant Physiology
Genomics
Biochemistry
General Biology
Biotechnology
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Crop Genetic Improvement
Bioinformatics and Statistics
Jack Juvik
Graduate Program Coordinator
Professor
juvik@illinois.edu
(217) 333-1966
Plant Physiology
Molecular Genetics
Biochemistry
General Biology
Fruit and Vegetable Crops
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Gary Kling
Associate Professor
gkling@illinois.edu
(217) 333-3363
Ornamentals
Landscape Stewardship
Frederic Kolb
Undergraduate Program Coordinator
Professor
f-kolb@illinois.edu
(217) 333-9485
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Crop Genetic Improvement
Mosbah Kushad
Associate Professor
kushad@illinois.edu
(217) 244-5691
Kris Lambert
Associate Professor
knlamber@illinois.edu
(217) 265-5165
Plant Physiology
General Biology
Entomology
Plant Pathology
Plant Protection
Biotechnology
Crop Genetic Improvement
DoKyoung 'D.K.' Lee
Associate Professor
leedk@illinois.edu
(217) 333-7736
Soil Fertility
Bioenergy Crops
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Alexander Lipka
Assistant Professor
alipka@illinois.edu
Stephen Long
Professor
slong@illinois.edu
(217) 333-2487
Sarah Taylor Lovell
Assistant Professor
stlovell@illinois.edu
(217) 244-3433
Landscape Stewardship
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
John Masiunas
Professor
masiunas@illinois.edu
(217) 244-4469
Weed Science
Plant Protection
Fruit and Vegetable Crops
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Stephen Moose
Professor
smoose@illinois.edu
(217) 244-6308
Plant Physiology
Molecular Genetics
Genomics
General Biology
Grain Crops
Bioenergy Crops
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Biotechnology
Emerson Nafziger
Research Education Center Coordinator
Professor
ednaf@illinois.edu
(217) 333-9658
Soil Fertility
Grain Crops
Bioenergy Crops
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Randall Nelson
Professor
rlnelson@illinois.edu
(217) 244-4346
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Cameron Pittelkow
Assistant Professor
cmpitt@illinois.edu
Water Quality
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Soil Fertility
Grain Crops
A. Lane Rayburn
Professor
arayburn@illinois.edu
(217) 333-4374
Molecular Genetics
Environmental Biology
General Biology
Water Quality
Grain Crops
Fruit and Vegetable Crops
Bioenergy Crops
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Biotechnology
Crop Genetic Improvement
Dean Riechers
Professor
riechers@illinois.edu
(217) 333-9655
Weed Science
Plant Physiology
Genomics
Biochemistry
Martin Sachs
Assistant Professor
msachs@illinois.edu
Plant Physiology
General Biology
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Crop Genetic Improvement
Erik Sacks
Assistant Professor
esacks@illinois.edu
(217) 333-9327
Bioenergy Crops
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Biotechnology
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Crop Genetic Improvement
Nathan Schroeder
Assistant Professor
nes@illinois.edu
(217) 244-6128
Molecular Genetics
General Biology
Plant Pathology
Plant Protection
Patrick Tranel
Professor
tranel@illinois.edu
(217) 333-1531
Weed Science
Plant Protection
Genomics
Plant Physiology
Molecular Genetics
General Biology
Maria Villamil
Assistant Professor
villamil@illinois.edu
(217) 333-4690
Grain Crops
Soil Fertility
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Bioinformatics and Statistics
Thomas Voigt
Associate Professor
tvoigt@illinois.edu
(217) 333-7847
Turf
Bioenergy Crops
David Walker
Assistant Professor
walkerdr@illinois.edu
(217) 244-1274
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Crop Genetic Improvement
Richard Weinzierl
Professor
weinzier@illinois.edu
(217) 244-2126
Entomology
Fruit and Vegetable Crops
Martin Williams
Associate Professor
mmwillms@illinois.edu
Plant Protection
Fruit and Vegetable Crops
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Weed Science
Samuel Wortman
Assistant Professor
swortman@illinois.edu
(217) 300-0232
Plant Physiology
Environmental Biology
Weed Science
Grain Crops
Soil Fertility
Fruit and Vegetable Crops
Crop Management and Environmental Systems
Youfu 'Frank' Zhao
Associate Professor
zhao888@illinois.edu
(217) 265-9822
Plant Pathology
Plant Protection
Molecular Genetics
Genomics
General Biology

Affiliated Faculty

Name/Title Contact Information Areas of Research
Elizabeth Ainsworth
Associate Professor
ainswort@illinois.edu
(217) 265-9887
Plant Physiology
Genomics
Environmental Biology
General Biology
Joanne Chee-Sanford
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Assistant Professor
cheesanf@illinois.edu
(217) 265-0959
Steven Huber
Professor
schuber1@illinois.edu
Plant Physiology
Biochemistry
Biotechnology
Andrew Leakey
Affiliate Professor
leakey@illinois.edu
Mark Mikel
Assistant Professor
mmikel@illinois.edu
(217) 333-1695
Genomics
Plant Breeding and Genetics
Crop Genetic Improvement
Ray Ming
Affiliate Professor
rayming@illinois.edu
Donald Ort
Professor
d-ort@illinois.edu
Plant Physiology
Biochemistry
General Biology
Joseph Spencer
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Assistant Professor
spencer1@illinois.edu
Entomology
Plant Protection